On this page5 sections
This site gets things wrong. Prices move, manufacturers revise specifications without announcing it, products get discontinued, and sometimes we make a mistake. This page says what we do about it.
What counts as a correction
Three different things, handled three different ways.
A factual error. A wrong specification, a misattributed source, a claim that doesn’t hold up. We fix the text and add a dated note at the bottom of the guide saying what changed. We don’t quietly edit and move on, because a reader who acted on the old version deserves to know it changed.
A price that has drifted. Every price on this site is a street range, not a fixed number, and every button pulls the live listing rather than a stored price. Ranges still go stale. We update them without a dated note, because a price range is a snapshot by definition and annotating every movement would bury the corrections that matter.
A recommendation we no longer stand behind. Sometimes a product gets worse: a revision cheapens the build, a company drops support, a subscription appears where none existed. When that happens we replace the pick and say why in the guide.
What we will not do
We will not remove a correction to make the site look cleaner. We will not change a recommendation because a manufacturer asked us to. We have no relationship with any brand on this site beyond the Amazon Associates program, and no brand has ever been given a preview of a guide.
Known limitations, stated up front
These are not errors. They are the boundaries of what this site can tell you, and they are worth knowing before you rely on anything here.
We do not test products. We compile published lab testing, manufacturer specifications read skeptically, published safety standards, and failure patterns across large numbers of owner reviews. Where a conclusion rests on someone else’s measurements, we name them. How we choose sets out the full method.
Prices and availability are US-only, and so are the safety standards we reference.
We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no cost to you. The commission rate does not vary between the products in a guide, so there is no financial reason to steer you toward one pick over another. See the affiliate disclosure.
Telling us about a mistake
Email beforeyoubuyguide@gmail.com with the guide, the claim, and where the better information comes from. A link to a manufacturer page or a published test is more useful than anything else you could send. We would rather hear it from you than leave it wrong.
Corrections log
October 202627 entries
11 Oct6 guides, 3 site pages and 3 department introsA writing review found claims we hadn’t sourced and wording that broke our own rules
A writing review found claims we hadn’t sourced and wording that broke our own rules. We removed or softened them. Air fryers: the FAQ no longer says air frying “cuts fat and calories substantially”; it states the oil difference only. Best Gifts for Her: removed “fixes it permanently” and “transformative” for the Manta mask, and the niacinamide, scalp-oil and weighted-blanket lines now say what buyers report. Cast iron vs stainless: removed “at any price”, “best value in any kitchen category” and “nothing else in a home kitchen sears like it”. Home & Kitchen: removed the claim that a $200–400 queen mattress beats showroom foam at four times the price, which no guide supports. The Kitchen Appliances intro implied we had handled some products ourselves; we haven’t used any of them, and the Kitchen Appliances, Home & Kitchen and Gifts intros now say so plainly. Housekeeping: creatine pros and tradeoff wording, a Kindle pick tagline, the corrections page’s price-range line, an About figure, intensifiers on How We Choose, and a stale sale-date line on the holiday page. No pick or ranking moved.
10 OctNinja Foodi Dual Zone vs. Instant Vortex PlusThe page gave the price gap as $50 to $70, even on sale
The page gave the price gap as $50 to $70, even on sale. By its own estimated ranges (Ninja about $180–230, about $150–160 on sale; Instant about $100–140) the gap is about $85 at list price and about $35 on sale. The figures were corrected; no pick or verdict changed.
10 OctThe August 2026 Price Index reportHousekeeping: the report’s search description said “tracked price ranges”
Housekeeping: the report’s search description said “tracked price ranges”. We give estimated ranges and re-check them; we don’t track prices. The description now says so. No figure, price or pick changed.
10 OctTen most-read guidesHousekeeping: long sentences (over 30 words) in the pick write-ups and FAQ answers of the air fryer, coffee gear, stocking stuffer, watches under $200, slim wallet, protein powder, compact umbrella and blood pressure monitor guides, and the CeraVe vs RoC and Seiko 5 vs Orient Bambino head-to-heads, were split into shorter ones
Housekeeping: long sentences (over 30 words) in the pick write-ups and FAQ answers of the air fryer, coffee gear, stocking stuffer, watches under $200, slim wallet, protein powder, compact umbrella and blood pressure monitor guides, and the CeraVe vs RoC and Seiko 5 vs Orient Bambino head-to-heads, were split into shorter ones. Every fact, figure, source and link stayed the same. No pick, price, ranking or claim changed.
10 OctBest-protein-powder-2026 and price wording on 14 pagesIn the protein powder guide, Naked Nutrition Naked Whey’s cost per serving was a single figure of about $2.17, worked out from an older $62.99 price; it is now about $2.05–2.40, worked out from the pick’s estimated price of about $60–70 for about 29 servings
In the protein powder guide, Naked Nutrition Naked Whey’s cost per serving was a single figure of about $2.17, worked out from an older $62.99 price; it is now about $2.05–2.40, worked out from the pick’s estimated price of about $60–70 for about 29 servings. No pick or ranking changed. Housekeeping: the creatine guide and the August price index report now write price ranges with one dollar sign (“~$0.44–0.50”), and the Price Index department chart does the same. The price list on each department page was refreshed from the live price index, so product counts, ranges and the product lists now match the /price-index/ table as last verified 5 October 2026. No pick or ranking changed.
10 OctBest-air-fryers-2026, best-fitness-trackers-2026, best-golf-gear-2026Four apostrophes that follow an italicized source name printed as opening quote marks
Four apostrophes that follow an italicized source name printed as opening quote marks; each now prints as an apostrophe. No product, price or claim changed.
8 OctWording across 115 pagesHousekeeping: guides said the price index covers “every product we track”, and the August report said we track “a live price range”
Housekeeping: guides said the price index covers “every product we track”, and the August report said we track “a live price range”. We give estimated ranges and re-check them; we don’t track prices, and they aren’t live. The wording now says so. No pick, price or ranking changed.
8 OctWording and housekeeping on 28 pagesThe protein powder guide no longer repeats the certification explanation under every pick
The protein powder guide no longer repeats the certification explanation under every pick. The Gaming price page no longer lists two PCs that are not picks in the guide it linked to. Head-to-head summaries now open with the decision, About and How We Choose describe the current guide layout, the Price Index drops two lines of old history, the holiday hub folds its two single-guide rows into neighbouring groups, and a few broken ranges and phrases (“300, 500 miles”, “a 1, 2 person machine”) were corrected. No pick, price or ranking changed.
8 OctBlack-friday-2026 and dealsHousekeeping: the page summaries on the Black Friday and Deals hubs, and one line on Black Friday, said we had “watched” prices
Housekeeping: the page summaries on the Black Friday and Deals hubs, and one line on Black Friday, said we had “watched” prices. We give estimated ranges and re-check them; we don’t track prices. The wording now says so. No pick, price or ranking changed.
8 OctBest-protein-powder-2026 and wording across 26 pagesIn the protein powder guide the Naked Nutrition Naked Whey tagline called it a whey isolate; the maker lists whey protein concentrate (and sells a separate isolate), so the tagline now says concentrate, and its single $62.99 price is now the pick’s estimated range, about $60–70
In the protein powder guide the Naked Nutrition Naked Whey tagline called it a whey isolate; the maker lists whey protein concentrate (and sells a separate isolate), so the tagline now says concentrate, and its single $62.99 price is now the pick’s estimated range, about $60–70. No pick or ranking changed. Housekeeping: “hands-on” and filler words (“genuinely”, “really”, “actually”) were cut from 22 guides, head-to-heads and info pages, wording that tied a named outlet’s testing to us was tightened, two short answers now name the lead pick by its short name, the Black Friday page and Deals page no longer imply price tracking, the dropped Novatech Titan Pro row was removed from the Black Friday page, and Prime Big Deal Days (6–7 October) is marked as past on the Black Friday, Holiday Gift Guide and Deals pages. No other price, pick or claim changed.
8 OctWording on the About and Price Index pages, the August Price Index report and one head-to-headDash pairs became brackets or commas, a filler word was cut from the JBL Flip 7 versus UE Wonderboom 4 comparison, and extra bold type was removed from two count sentences
Dash pairs became brackets or commas, a filler word was cut from the JBL Flip 7 versus UE Wonderboom 4 comparison, and extra bold type was removed from two count sentences. No price, figure, pick or claim changed.
7 OctGaming PC Under $1,000, and the Spec Traps to AvoidThe top pick, the Novatech Titan, cleared this guide’s $1,000 line by one cent ($999.99 on Novatech’s site, $1,049.99 list), so it moves to What we skipped
The top pick, the Novatech Titan, cleared this guide’s $1,000 line by one cent ($999.99 on Novatech’s site, $1,049.99 list), so it moves to What we skipped. The new top pick is the ZOTAC MEK 5050 (RTX 5050, Ryzen 5 5500, 16GB, 1TB drive), priced at about $880–1,000: $999.99 in ZOTAC’s own store, $899.99 on Amazon and $879.99 on sale at Newegg when we checked. The page says plainly that it sits at the line on a normal day. The WIWB Gaming PC is unchanged.
7 OctHerman-miller-sayl-vs-branch-ergonomic and best-office-chairs-2026The two guides priced the Herman Miller Sayl differently
The two guides priced the Herman Miller Sayl differently: about $550–600 new in the Sayl comparison (an Amazon figure) against about $885–1,530 in the office chairs guide. The Sayl listings we could read on Amazon were used or refurbished units from third-party sellers, not new stock, and Herman Miller’s own store lists a new Sayl at about $935–1,275 depending on arms, seat depth and lumbar support. Both guides now carry that range. In the Sayl comparison the per-year cost, the gap to the Branch Ergonomic Chair Pro (about $415–805 new, not $50–90) and the lines that called the two chairs close in price are corrected; the Branch’s own price is unchanged. The Sayl is still the longer-warranty pick and the Branch still the better value. No pick or ranking changed.
7 OctFour head-to-head titlesThe page headings on the Omron vs. Withings, Bissell vs. Hoover, Nest vs. Ecobee and Casio G-Shock vs. Timex Expedition comparisons ran past 90 characters, longer than a heading or link list should carry
The page headings on the Omron vs. Withings, Bissell vs. Hoover, Nest vs. Ecobee and Casio G-Shock vs. Timex Expedition comparisons ran past 90 characters, longer than a heading or link list should carry. Each is shortened (the full model names stay in the guide, and the Casio heading drops its price band, which the page still gives in the price boxes). Search-result titles and page addresses are unchanged, and “Keep reading” links on other guides now use the new headings, as do three links (in the gaming headsets and gaming PCs guides) that had lagged behind the titles they point to. No product, price or recommendation changed.
7 OctCertified Protein PowdersTwo paragraph openers were reworded after the per-serving fix so three in a row no longer begin the same way
Two paragraph openers were reworded after the per-serving fix so three in a row no longer begin the same way. No price or claim changed.
7 OctGifts Under $50The Victorinox Classic SD write-up said every other pick in the guide costs $35 or more
The Victorinox Classic SD write-up said every other pick in the guide costs $35 or more. The Fire TV Stick HD starts lower, so it now says most other picks run from $35 up. No price or pick changed.
7 OctCopy housekeepingA weekly style check flagged words the house style avoids and a few density limits
A weekly style check flagged words the house style avoids and a few density limits. We swapped machine-flavored adjectives and verbs for plain wording in 18 guides (wording about a lock physically opening stays), trimmed filler words in four, varied repeated paragraph openers in best-creatine-2026, cut em dashes in best-protein-powder-2026 and best-first-aid-kits-2026, and reworded a general “$150” aside in best-sunglasses-under-100 so it no longer reads as that pair’s price. No price, pick, rating or claim about a product changed.
7 OctPrice consistency across guidesA site check found the same product quoted at different prices in different guides, and a few sentences that disagreed with the price range beside them
A site check found the same product quoted at different prices in different guides, and a few sentences that disagreed with the price range beside them. Each now carries one range, checked against the Amazon listing on 5 or 7 October: the Manta Sleep Mask (best-self-care-gifts-under-50), Victorinox Classic SD (best-gifts-under-50), Command Hooks Value Pack (best-stocking-stuffers-under-25), Amazon Echo Hub (best-gifts-for-grandparents), ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium (best-smart-home-devices-2026, best-smart-thermostats-2026, nest-vs-ecobee-thermostat), Whoosh Screen Shine Duo (best-gifts-for-gamers-under-50), Ninja Foodi Dual Zone (the Breville comparison), Brita Elite pitcher (best-gifts-for-parents), Branch Ergonomic Chair Pro (the Sayl comparison), Wyze Cam v4 and the kit total in smart-home-starter-kit-150, and the PopSockets PopGrip (best-tech-stocking-stuffers-under-20). In best-protein-powder-2026 the cost per serving is now stated as a range that matches each tub’s price, and in best-webcams-mics-2026 the Elgato Facecam is quoted at its card range. No pick, photo or ranking changed.
4 Oct51 guides, head-to-heads and information pagesSpelling cleanup, no change to any claim
Spelling cleanup, no change to any claim: British spellings (colour, centre, litre, favourite, ageing, moisturiser and similar) now use the US forms, since prices, availability and standards on this site are for US shoppers.
4 Oct56 guides and head-to-headsWording cleanup, no change to any pick, price or ranking
Wording cleanup, no change to any pick, price or ranking: the word “honest” was dropped from phrases such as “the honest limits” and “the honest catch”, where it only added emphasis.
4 OctProduct count, About, Contact, How We Choose and the Holiday Gift Guide hubThe product count shown on the home page, menu, About, 404 page, Product Finder and Price Index list now counts each product once (528)
The product count shown on the home page, menu, About, 404 page, Product Finder and Price Index list now counts each product once (528). It had counted 572 price rows, so a product priced in two departments, or listed under two names such as Command Hooks Value Pack, counted twice; no product claim changed. The About page counted 91 buying guides and 22 head-to-heads; the library now has 93 buying guides, 22 gift lineups and 32 head-to-head comparisons. The Holiday Gift Guide hub said “All 14” gift guides while the Gifts department lists 22; the missing eight are now on it, and its baby shower row leads with the Hatch Baby (about $80–90, as corrected on 28 September) instead of the Hatch Rest. The email address on the Contact, About and How We Choose pages is now a link.
4 OctGaming PC, skincare, air fryer, office chair, coffee gift, baby monitor, gaming monitor and thermostat guidesWording cleanup, no change to any pick, price or ranking
Wording cleanup, no change to any pick, price or ranking: lines that told the history of a pick (“the old pick”, “by us until now”, “Was $70+”, “Updated September 2026” inside a card) now describe the product as it is today; the gaming PC guide’s changelog section became a short “Why this guide has two picks”, with the history left in the dated correction note; and filler words, a garbled how-we-chose card and a few punctuation slips were fixed.
4 OctAirPods Pro 3 vs. Sony WF-1000XM5 and Lodge vs. Le Creuset Dutch OvenThe earbuds comparison’s verdict row gave the Sony WF-1000XM5 at about $250 while the page’s own range is about $250–280, and its introduction called the two “the best” noise-cancelling earbuds you can buy; it now gives the range and says “two of the best”
The earbuds comparison’s verdict row gave the Sony WF-1000XM5 at about $250 while the page’s own range is about $250–280, and its introduction called the two “the best” noise-cancelling earbuds you can buy; it now gives the range and says “two of the best”. The Dutch oven comparison’s introduction priced the pots at forty and four hundred dollars (they are about $70–130 and $380–455), and the Le Creuset carried a “Best overall” badge while the verdict recommends the Lodge for most kitchens; the badges now read “Best for heirloom use” and “Best for most kitchens”. Both pages also stopped saying their buy buttons pull the live listing and now say prices are estimated ranges re-checked weekly. No pick, price range or ranking changed.
4 OctSmart thermostats, gaming monitors, blood pressure monitors and skincare guidesThe smart thermostats guide said a thermostat pays back in one to two years on a $2,000 heating bill; at the roughly $50 a year Energy Star cites, a $60–80 model pays back in that time and a $250 one takes about five, and the guide now says so
The smart thermostats guide said a thermostat pays back in one to two years on a $2,000 heating bill; at the roughly $50 a year Energy Star cites, a $60–80 model pays back in that time and a $250 one takes about five, and the guide now says so. It also now credits the 8% average to Energy Star and the 26% to ecobee, counts five thermostats, and no longer calls the ecobee sensor the only fix for an uneven room. In the gaming monitors guide the third pick, the Dell 27 QHD, was badged “Top pick” beside the LG’s “Best overall” and its short-answer row was labelled “On a budget”; it is now “Best warranty”, the fourth pick carries its short name instead of a retailer title, and a link to the budget gaming PC guide no longer quotes $1,200 (that guide’s limit is $1,000). The blood pressure guide’s FAQ named the retired Omron 3 Series (swapped for the Omron Bronze on 23 September) and its first pick said we had put a monitor through a head-to-head; it now says we compared them. The skincare short answer gave the CeraVe retinol serum at about $20 against the pick’s about $10–20. No pick, price range or ranking changed.
4 OctHow We Choose, Deals, Corrections and the Holiday Gift Guide hubHow We Choose still described the budget gaming PC guide as a three-pick page
How We Choose still described the budget gaming PC guide as a three-pick page; it has two picks, and the page now says why, and it notes that head-to-heads compare two products by design. The About page now says each buying guide, not each page, closes with a six-question FAQ. The Deals page no longer says it is unchanged from an August check (its figures were refreshed on 27 September), no longer calls a cat tree “now the top pick”, and no longer says “never buy” at list price. An unsourced search-interest figure was removed from the Holiday Gift Guide hub, and its first row no longer ends mid-sentence. The title of the newest entry on this page was tidied.
4 OctBest Home Furniture and Best Stocking Stuffers Under $25 guidesThe home furniture guide’s accent chair pick did not name a model, and some of its description did not fit the chair in the photo
The home furniture guide’s accent chair pick did not name a model, and some of its description did not fit the chair in the photo. It now names the Christopher Knight Home Nettie Modern Accent Chair and describes it from its Amazon listing: a rubberwood frame and legs, a curved wrap-around back, a foam seat cushion 24 inches deep, and five colors. Two claims we could not support were removed (that owners report it holding its shape over years of daily use, and that its seat is firm and its back upright), and the shallow-seat warning was dropped because the listing gives a 24-inch seat. The price range moved from about $150–280 to about $190–210, and the guide’s “How we chose” line no longer claims thousands of owner reports and several years of use for every pick. The stocking stuffers guide’s playing card pick described a generic premium deck printed on “plastic-coated or cotton-linen stock” that lasts “hundreds of shuffles,” in a tuck box that survives a bag. It now names the Copag Elite 100% Plastic Playing Cards (poker size, jumbo index, $9.99 from Copag) and says only what Copag states: 100% PVC plastic, outlasting paper cards by up to 50 times, washable with a damp cloth. Its price range is unchanged. Both picks keep their rank.
1 OctShort answers on guides and head-to-headsThe short answer box at the top of each guide and head-to-head was redesigned, and two of its labels changed: “Buy” now reads “For most people” and “Skip / Don’t pay extra for” now reads “Skip”
The short answer box at the top of each guide and head-to-head was redesigned, and two of its labels changed: “Buy” now reads “For most people” and “Skip / Don’t pay extra for” now reads “Skip”. For about an hour after the redesign went live, nine rows across nine guides and head-to-heads carried the wrong product name as their heading, and some showed the price from the sentence beside it: a row about the Galaxy Tab was headed “Apple iPad”, and a row about a daily SPF was headed with The Ordinary’s niacinamide serum. Those headings were removed the same day. The sentences, picks and prices underneath were never changed.
September 202636 entries
30 Sep12 guidesProduct photos on the pick cards of the baby feeding, strollers and car seats, infant car seat versus convertible, learning toys, printers and scanners, fragrances, makeup, home furniture, cameras, golf gear, cycling gear and water sports gear guides were still showing older copies after the images were repaired
Product photos on the pick cards of the baby feeding, strollers and car seats, infant car seat versus convertible, learning toys, printers and scanners, fragrances, makeup, home furniture, cameras, golf gear, cycling gear and water sports gear guides were still showing older copies after the images were repaired. Every pick card now uses the current photo. The products, prices and rankings are unchanged.
30 SepBest Cameras, Best Learning Toys and Best Home Furniture guidesThe Canon EOS R50, Magna-Tiles Magnetic Building Set and Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress picks were still showing an older copy of their product photos after the official images were replaced
The Canon EOS R50, Magna-Tiles Magnetic Building Set and Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress picks were still showing an older copy of their product photos after the official images were replaced. All three picks now use the new photos. The products, prices and rankings are unchanged.
30 SepStocking Stuffers Under $25 for AdultsThe hand cream pick described a generic three-piece gift set at about $15–22, but its photo showed L’Occitane’s Hand Cream Trio, which sells for about $33, over the guide’s $25 limit
The hand cream pick described a generic three-piece gift set at about $15–22, but its photo showed L’Occitane’s Hand Cream Trio, which sells for about $33, over the guide’s $25 limit. The pick now names Burt’s Bees Hand Cream Trio (three 1 oz shea butter creams in a gift box) at about $10–16, with its own photo. The guide’s short answer also still said the sleep mask cost about $28, left from before the 23 September mask swap; it now gives $25, the knife, as the top of the range.
29 SepStocking Stuffers Under $25 for AdultsThe 3-Piece Hand Cream Gift Set pick said the set holds three full-size creams
The 3-Piece Hand Cream Gift Set pick said the set holds three full-size creams. The set pictured, L’Occitane’s Hand Cream Trio, holds three 30 ml (1 oz) travel-size tubes, and the pick now describes them as travel-size. The pick, its photo and its price range are unchanged.
29 SepCertified Creatine MonohydrateThe guide said Thorne Creatine Monohydrate and Klean Creatine were Creapure-sourced, that Momentous named Creapure on its label, and that Klean Creatine also carried Informed Choice certification
The guide said Thorne Creatine Monohydrate and Klean Creatine were Creapure-sourced, that Momentous named Creapure on its label, and that Klean Creatine also carried Informed Choice certification. Thorne’s page and label name no Creapure source, Momentous’s own page says it no longer sources creatine from Creapure, and Klean’s NSF-listed label names no source. We could not confirm an Informed Choice listing for Klean. The Thorne wording about USADA and flavors was also corrected, and the Klean and Momentous badges changed with the fixes. The picks, prices and ranking are unchanged.
29 SepCertified Creatine MonohydrateThe Gnarly Nutrition Creatine pick was described as Creapure-sourced
The Gnarly Nutrition Creatine pick was described as Creapure-sourced. Gnarly’s own product page says the current formula moved to a different creatine source, Instantized creatine, and that the NSF Certified for Sport listing is for the unflavored bag only. The pick’s text, name and pros list now say so. The pick, price and ranking are unchanged.
28 SepFourteen guidesA price check found errors, some of them from our own 23 September pass
A price check found errors, some of them from our own 23 September pass. Three guides listed the Echo Dot at about $75–85, and the gifts under $50 guide dropped it as over its limit; that was the price of the Echo Dot Max, and the Echo Dot sells for about $40–50. Since launch, the pulse oximeter guide had listed the Nonin Onyx Vantage 9590 at about $80–100 (it sells for about $250–270), and the kids tech guide had listed the Echo Dot Kids at about $85–95 (about $40–55). The Hatch Rest 2nd Gen is no longer sold new on Amazon, so three baby guides now recommend its successor, the Hatch Baby, at about $80–90. The Seiko SYMA40K is no longer sold on Amazon, so the women’s watches guide now names the Seiko SYM602. Buy buttons for the Fire TV Stick HD, Kindle Paperwhite Kids, Chefman RJ38-2T, GuliKit KK3 Max and EarFun Air Pro 4 now go to the product itself; they had been landing on other models or on a listing that no longer sells it. Every guide whose pick or price changed carries a note.
27 SepPrinters and ScannersThe Epson EcoTank ET-2800 pick credited its 4,500-black / 7,500-color page figures to a reviewer’s measurement of the included ink; they are Epson’s rated yields for a replacement bottle set, and the text now says so
The Epson EcoTank ET-2800 pick credited its 4,500-black / 7,500-color page figures to a reviewer’s measurement of the included ink; they are Epson’s rated yields for a replacement bottle set, and the text now says so. It also no longer calls the ET-2800 the entry point: Epson’s entry model is the ET-2400, which uses the same bottles. The pick, photo and price range are unchanged.
27 SepMen’s Grooming ToolsThe Philips Norelco All-in-One Trimmer 7000 pick said 23 pieces and showed an older Multigroom-era kit
The Philips Norelco All-in-One Trimmer 7000 pick said 23 pieces and showed an older Multigroom-era kit. Philips’s current US model is the 22-piece MG7975/49, so the count, the photo and the search link now match it. A claim that the blades are rated to stay sharp for five years was removed; Philips says only that they stay as sharp as day one and need no oil. The price range is unchanged.
27 SepSelf-care Gifts Under $50The cozy-nights pick named a Sivio sherpa throw and described a light, non-weighted couch blanket, but every Sivio sherpa blanket is a weighted blanket of 15 lb or more, and the photo showed a Sivio cotton weighted blanket
The cozy-nights pick named a Sivio sherpa throw and described a light, non-weighted couch blanket, but every Sivio sherpa blanket is a weighted blanket of 15 lb or more, and the photo showed a Sivio cotton weighted blanket. The pick is now the Bedsure Sherpa Fleece Throw (flannel fleece on one side, sherpa on the other, machine washable), at about $20–35 instead of $30–45, with its own photo.
27 SepHome FurnitureThe Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress pick now describes the current 10-inch version (fiberglass-free, medium-firm) and notes that Zinus’s own store sells it as the Original Green Tea and points to a pricier Balanced Comfort Core model
The Zinus Green Tea Memory Foam Mattress pick now describes the current 10-inch version (fiberglass-free, medium-firm) and notes that Zinus’s own store sells it as the Original Green Tea and points to a pricier Balanced Comfort Core model. The pick, photo and price range are unchanged.
27 SepSmart Home Hubs and DisplaysThe Lutron Caséta Smart Hub Kit photo now shows the whole starter kit the pick links to (Smart Hub, smart dimmer and Pico remote) instead of the hub on its own
The Lutron Caséta Smart Hub Kit photo now shows the whole starter kit the pick links to (Smart Hub, smart dimmer and Pico remote) instead of the hub on its own. The pick, its copy and its price are unchanged.
27 SepBest Smart Plugs and SwitchesThe Lutron Caséta pick recommends the smart dimmer starter kit (dimmer, Pico remote and Smart Hub) but showed a different dimmer, the Diva, in its retail packaging
The Lutron Caséta pick recommends the smart dimmer starter kit (dimmer, Pico remote and Smart Hub) but showed a different dimmer, the Diva, in its retail packaging. The photo now shows the starter kit itself. The pick, its copy and its price are unchanged.
27 SepProduct photos on six guidesA photo audit found shared product photos that showed a different variant from the one the guide names
A photo audit found shared product photos that showed a different variant from the one the guide names. The Kids tech guide showed the standard Kindle Paperwhite for the Kids edition. The nursery essentials and baby shower gift guides showed the Electric NoseFrida for the plain NoseFrida, and the nursery guide showed a video monitor for the VTech DM221 audio monitor. The gifts for her guide showed the Theragun Prime for the Theragun Relief, and the smart hubs guide showed a dimmer switch for the Caséta Smart Hub Kit. The home office guide’s ScreenBar Halo now has its own photo. Each photo now shows the exact product the guide names.
27 SepTwo head-to-headsCasio G-Shock DW-5600 vs. Timex Expedition Scout and Travelpro Maxlite 5 vs. Samsonite Freeform now carry a dated note pointing to their guides’ current picks, the Timex Weekender and the Samsonite Omni 2
Casio G-Shock DW-5600 vs. Timex Expedition Scout and Travelpro Maxlite 5 vs. Samsonite Freeform now carry a dated note pointing to their guides’ current picks, the Timex Weekender and the Samsonite Omni 2. Both comparisons stay up for readers weighing those models. No pick, price or ranking changed on either page.
27 SepHousekeepingThe accessibility statement claimed contrast was checked against 4.5:1 in both themes with no exception named
The accessibility statement claimed contrast was checked against 4.5:1 in both themes with no exception named. A 26 Sep audit found one confirmed exception (a department-color background token that falls short of 4.5:1 for lighter text at its exact center point) and one claim — live keyboard focus order — we verify by reading the code but hadn’t yet confirmed with a recorded pass. The statement now names both instead of claiming blanket coverage, and reflects three fixes from the same audit: comparison tables that overflow are now keyboard-scrollable, the menu buttons that open a panel announce it, and the newsletter field meets the minimum tap-target size. No other page changed.
27 SepGaming PC Under $1,000, and the Spec Traps to AvoidThe title and top pick had drifted to $1,200, contradicting the page’s own slug
The title and top pick had drifted to $1,200, contradicting the page’s own slug. Re-picked to two configurations that genuinely price under $1,000: the Novatech Titan (RTX 5050, $999.99) replaces the Titan Pro (RTX 5060) as the top pick, and the CyberPowerPC Gamer Xtreme was dropped (config-roulette pricing now lands at $1,035+). Both demoted picks are covered in What we skipped. Title and SERP title corrected to match the slug.
27 SepAirPods Pro 3 vs. Sony WF-1000XM5The head-to-head now carries a dated note pointing to our wireless earbuds guide’s current pick, the WF-1000XM6
The head-to-head now carries a dated note pointing to our wireless earbuds guide’s current pick, the WF-1000XM6. The comparison stays up for readers weighing the XM5. No pick, price or ranking changed on the page.
27 SepDeals pageThe page still named the Frisco 72-inch cat tree, which our pet beds and furniture guide replaced with the Feandrea Cat Tree; it now names the Feandrea at the guide’s range
The page still named the Frisco 72-inch cat tree, which our pet beds and furniture guide replaced with the Feandrea Cat Tree; it now names the Feandrea at the guide’s range. Three other price ranges were brought into line with their guides (Shark FlexStyle, Alienware Aurora R16, Lodge cast iron), and the prices-checked date moved from 3 August to 27 September.
27 SepHoliday Gift Guide 2026 hubVerified all 14 lead picks and ranges against their child gift guides after the 23 Sep product-swap round
Verified all 14 lead picks and ranges against their child gift guides after the 23 Sep product-swap round. All 14 lead picks were still correct. Three price ranges had drifted from their guide’s current range (Gorilla Grip Litter Mat, Olaplex No. 3, Kindle Paperwhite) and were synced to match.
27 SepBlack Friday and holiday gift hubsBoth hubs gave Prime Big Deal Days as 7–8 October, and the Black Friday hub marked the date unconfirmed
Both hubs gave Prime Big Deal Days as 7–8 October, and the Black Friday hub marked the date unconfirmed. Amazon has since announced 6–7 October. Both pages now carry the confirmed dates.
27 SepFire HD 10 KidsThe Fire HD 10 Kids pick showed the standard tablet’s photo
The Fire HD 10 Kids pick showed the standard tablet’s photo; it now shows the Kids edition in its case.
27 SepHyperX Cloud III vs Arctis Nova 7The 5 September correction fixed the compare card to say Arctis Nova 7 Gen 2 but left the title, meta description and a few in-body mentions on the old name
The 5 September correction fixed the compare card to say Arctis Nova 7 Gen 2 but left the title, meta description and a few in-body mentions on the old name. All now match the section header.
27 SepLevoit vs Coway air purifiersThe 23 September swap to the Eleva 300X updated the H1 and body but missed the SERP title and excerpt, which still named the discontinued Core 300S and its old coverage figure
The 23 September swap to the Eleva 300X updated the H1 and body but missed the SERP title and excerpt, which still named the discontinued Core 300S and its old coverage figure. Both now match the Eleva 300X.
26 SepPrice wordingGuides, department pages, How We Verify and the Price Index described our price ranges as “tracked
Guides, department pages, How We Verify and the Price Index described our price ranges as “tracked.” That word suggested continuous, automated price tracking beyond what we actually do: we publish a range and re-check it in a weekly sweep. Those pages now say “published” or “listed” instead. No price, pick or range changed.
25 Sep13 guidesOn thirteen guides the short answer named one product while the ranking put another first, so the page’s “Our pick” and its recommendation disagreed
On thirteen guides the short answer named one product while the ranking put another first, so the page’s “Our pick” and its recommendation disagreed. On nine the recommended product now leads the ranking; on four, where the page’s own ordering explains the ranking, the short answer now leads with the #1 pick. No product or price changed. Each guide carries a note.
25 Sep3 guidesA read of every page found three guides saying something their own picks didn’t support
A read of every page found three guides saying something their own picks didn’t support. The gifts-under-$50 guide still described a removed smart speaker and six picks; the wireless earbuds guide’s short version named a different best pair than its #1 pick; and the budget skincare headline promised a routine under $75 that can cost about $90. Each guide carries a note saying what changed.
25 SepHousekeepingNo pick, price or ranking changed
No pick, price or ranking changed. Sixteen guides showed a second “Top pick” label on a lower-ranked product; each now carries its own role, such as “Best warranty”. Five search titles gave the wrong number of picks. The Price Index said 11 departments where the site has 12, and the Product Finder’s search description undercounted its products. The Press page described the retired logo, the Deals page claimed a monthly rebuild its August figures didn’t reflect, and the Contact page now gives the same reply times as the Press page. One grammar slip was fixed. Fixes like these are logged here rather than on each guide.
23 Sep45 guidesA price check found picks that had been discontinued, renamed or never stocked on Amazon, six priced past the limit in their guide’s title, and four supplement prices that broke a cost-per-serving claim
A price check found picks that had been discontinued, renamed or never stocked on Amazon, six priced past the limit in their guide’s title, and four supplement prices that broke a cost-per-serving claim. Each pick was replaced with its successor or the next best product, or its price and the claims built on it were corrected. Fi’s collar and membership pricing was corrected on three pages, and four head-to-head titles changed to name the product they now compare. Each guide carries a note saying what changed.
22 SepNine guidesSeven more guides first published on 14 September (four gift guides and three head-to-heads) also said “Updated July 2026”; they now say September 2026
Seven more guides first published on 14 September (four gift guides and three head-to-heads) also said “Updated July 2026”; they now say September 2026. On the creatine guide, a 21 September edit had turned one drawback into a false statement about cost per serving; it is restored. On the fish oil guide, an internal editing instruction had been published in the “How we chose” line since 14 September, and two safety sentences removed on 21 September are back. Each guide carries a note. No pick, price or ranking moved.
21 Sep26 guidesThe watch, travel, accessories, gift, health monitor and supplement guides first published on 14 September said “Updated July 2026” in their “How we chose” line
The watch, travel, accessories, gift, health monitor and supplement guides first published on 14 September said “Updated July 2026” in their “How we chose” line. The date came from a template written for older guides. They now say September 2026, and each guide carries a note. No pick, price or ranking moved.
16 SepThree guidesThe carry-on luggage, pulse oximeter and smart scale guides each stated a product count that was one or two higher than the number of products listed
The carry-on luggage, pulse oximeter and smart scale guides each stated a product count that was one or two higher than the number of products listed. Five products had been removed from those guides on 14 September — four because no photograph of the product on its own existed, and one because the model is no longer sold — and the sentences counting them were not updated at the same time. The counts now match the lists. No pick, price or ranking moved.
12 SepOne guideThe smartwatch guide called the Apple Watch Series 11 the most medically capable wearable available and “everything a wrist can currently do”
The smartwatch guide called the Apple Watch Series 11 the most medically capable wearable available and “everything a wrist can currently do”. Apple announced the Series 12 on 9 September 2026, in stores from the 18th, with a new Health Sensing System, which retires both claims. The pick has not changed — the Series 11 is now presented as the outgoing flagship and the better value while stocked — and the Series 12 is named so readers can decide. No price was changed.
12 SepOne guideThe smartwatch guide showed a previous-generation Galaxy Watch
The smartwatch guide showed a previous-generation Galaxy Watch — a round-case model — as the photograph for the Samsung Galaxy Watch 8, which uses the cushion-shaped case introduced on the Watch Ultra. The image has been replaced with the correct product. No pick, price or ranking moved.
5 SepNine guidesAn every-page audit found and fixed
An every-page audit found and fixed: a skincare sentence that told dry-skin readers to pick the Foaming CeraVe cleanser (the guide’s own advice is Hydrating for dry skin); a third “1080p” label for the Fire HD 10 that survived the 20 August fix (1920×1200); the iPad (A16) still quoted at its $349 launch price after Apple’s June 2026 rise to $449; one doorbell pick named two ways (now Ring Wired Doorbell Pro throughout); a compare card calling the SteelSeries headset “Arctis Nova 7” when the pick is the Gen 2; a Solawave “Best under $150” badge that its own $130–170 range contradicted (now under $200), and three more price-cap badges that the ranges had outgrown (the SIHOO M57 chair, and the Aothia desk pad in two guides); and a Litter Genie table label that disagreed with its section. In the same pass, eleven compare-card price rows were re-synced to their guides’ canonical ranges and three gift-guide chips were aligned with the verified figures in their sibling guides (price drift is normally updated silently; listed here because the audit surfaced them together), and thirteen typos and broken sentences were repaired with no change of meaning. No pick or ranking moved.
3 SepSeven guidesTen sentences that quoted retailer star ratings and review counts (Amazon, Ulta, Chewy, a brand’s own store) were reworded to describe owner-review sentiment without the figures, in the makeup, gaming-chair, home-organization, monitors-and-docks, pet-furniture, skincare and air-fryer guides
Ten sentences that quoted retailer star ratings and review counts (Amazon, Ulta, Chewy, a brand’s own store) were reworded to describe owner-review sentiment without the figures, in the makeup, gaming-chair, home-organization, monitors-and-docks, pet-furniture, skincare and air-fryer guides. Reason: retailer ratings are not ours to reproduce and drift daily; published test scores from independent outlets are unchanged. No pick, price or ranking moved.
August 202614 entries
20 AugSix guidesAn audit pass corrected six factual slips
An audit pass corrected six factual slips: the chargers guide’s FAA rule on carrying spare batteries; the cookware guide’s Victorinox steel grade (X50CrMoV15, not X55CrMo14); the tablets guide’s Fire HD 10 resolution label (1920×1200, not 1080p) in two places; the smart-locks guide’s absolute claim that auto-lock “eliminates” the most common failure (it sharply cuts it); a mis-badged RENPHO pick in the gifts-for-her guide; and a mislabeled Rocketbook link in the gifts-for-him guide. Logged late: the fixes shipped on 20 August without an entry here, which is itself the kind of slip this page exists to record.
18 AugFour guidesFour picks left the market and have been replaced
Four picks left the market and have been replaced: the Cooler Master Hybrid 1 gaming chair (Amazon listing dead) gave its slot to the Razer Enki X; the NZXT BLD Starter Plus (line retired by NZXT) to the NZXT Player One — a different tier, which the guide now says plainly; the Chipolo ONE Spot (line discontinued) to the Chipolo Pop; and the Cosori Dual Blaze (unavailable) to the Cosori TurboBlaze. Each guide carries its own dated note, and every replacement’s price was verified against its live listing today. Our Ninja vs. Dual Blaze comparison stays up for owners, with an availability note.
18 AugCoffee gear and coffee gifts guidesThe retailer link for the Baratza Encore grinder pointed at an outdated listing
The retailer link for the Baratza Encore grinder pointed at an outdated listing. It now points at Baratza’s current listing for the same grinder. The pick itself is unchanged.
18 AugSite-wideDifferent pages disagreed about how often prices are re-checked — some said weekly, others monthly
Different pages disagreed about how often prices are re-checked — some said weekly, others monthly. As of today the answer is weekly everywhere, and it is backed by a system rather than a habit: an automated sweep reads every listed product’s live retail listing each week and flags anything outside its published range for human review. Every page now states the same cadence.
18 AugAbout pageThe page said we link to lab-testing publications when a conclusion depends on their work
The page said we link to lab-testing publications when a conclusion depends on their work. In practice we name them in the text but do not link to competing review sites, and the page now says “we name them.” Separately, the linking policy was widened the same day: standards bodies and government agencies (NSF, FDA, CPSC, EPA, Energy Star and others) are now linked at first mention in guides.
3 AugBaby monitorsThe guide recommended the eufy SpaceView as a hybrid monitor, saying you could run it as a local radio monitor day to day and switch Wi-Fi on to view the feed on a phone
The guide recommended the eufy SpaceView as a hybrid monitor, saying you could run it as a local radio monitor day to day and switch Wi-Fi on to view the feed on a phone. The SpaceView does not do that. eufy’s own specification sheets for both the SpaceView and the SpaceView Pro state that they are not Wi-Fi capable, and the product is sold on the basis that no app is required. The entire entry rested on a capability the product does not have, so the pick was replaced with the eufy Baby Monitor E21, which genuinely offers both a parent unit and app viewing. Found during an internal sweep, not reported by a reader.
3 AugBaby feedingThe Spectra S1 Plus entry said the pump is “frequently covered in full by US insurance” and led with the line that it is often free through insurance
The Spectra S1 Plus entry said the pump is “frequently covered in full by US insurance” and led with the line that it is often free through insurance. The suppliers who process these claims describe the S1 Plus as an upgrade item carrying an out-of-pocket difference that varies by plan; the pump usually covered outright under the ACA is the mains-powered S2 Plus. A reader acting on our wording would have been surprised at checkout. The entry now explains the distinction.
3 AugCamping gearThe Coleman Sundome entry credited the tent with keeping rain out through a decades-refined floor and fly design
The Coleman Sundome entry credited the tent with keeping rain out through a decades-refined floor and fly design. The fly covers only about half the tent body and the seams are not sealed; Switchback Travel, testing the six-person, found standing water inside after one moderately rainy night. The entry now says so plainly and the tent is framed as fair-weather. The Jetboil Flash entry also published a hundred-second boil time against Jetboil’s own published figure of 120 seconds per half liter. Both corrected.
3 AugStrollers and car seatsThe guide recommended the Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 and the UPPAbaby Cruz V2
The guide recommended the Baby Jogger City Mini GT2 and the UPPAbaby Cruz V2. Both are discontinued and replaced by the GT3 and Cruz V3. The GT3 entry also corrects a compatibility claim carried over from the GT2: the older model listed direct compatibility with a long list of car-seat brands, while the GT3 ships adapters for Baby Jogger and Graco seats and needs separately sold adapters for most Nuna seats.
1 AugPrice IndexThe page reported 422 published price ranges across 92 guides
The page reported 422 published price ranges across 92 guides. The corpus had grown to 494 ranges across 102 guides, and the counts of products under $25 and under $50 were understated at 39 and 107 against actual figures of 57 and 181. The per-department table was rebuilt from current data. Found during an internal audit, not reported by a reader.
1 AugGaming chairsThe Cooler Master Hybrid 1 entry published 31.2 pounds as the chair’s weight
The Cooler Master Hybrid 1 entry published 31.2 pounds as the chair’s weight. That figure is the gross shipping weight in kilograms; the chair is roughly 58 pounds. The same entry credited four measurements to published testing at Tom’s Hardware when they came from Cooler Master’s own specification sheet, and described the chair as having a 24-inch seat when that measurement spans the outer edges including the side bolsters. The entry was rewritten and re-badged.
1 AugKids techThe JLab JBuddies Studio 2 entry stated that the 95 dB volume-limit switch was one a child could reach
The JLab JBuddies Studio 2 entry stated that the 95 dB volume-limit switch was one a child could reach. JLab places it inside the earcup for parent-only access. The entry also described wired use as useful on a plane, but wired mode on this model is USB-C only and airline seatback jacks are 3.5 mm. Both claims were corrected.
1 AugSkincareThe CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum entry said its encapsulated retinol releases slowly
The CeraVe Resurfacing Retinol Serum entry said its encapsulated retinol releases slowly. CeraVe describes the retinol only as encapsulated and attributes slow release to the ceramides in its MVE delivery system. Corrected.
1 AugMen’s groomingThe Merkur 34C entry priced 100 Astra blades at about $8 in two places
The Merkur 34C entry priced 100 Astra blades at about $8 in two places. Current pricing is $10 to $13. Corrected.
No entry matches that search.
Last updated October 11, 2026